Autor Thema: DaC Interview mit Tim Cain  (Gelesen 1410 mal)

Offline Lexx

• Administrator
  • Auserwähltes Wesen
DaC Interview mit Tim Cain
« am: 23. Februar 2010, 11:22:42 Uhr »
Fallout Fanseite Duck and Cover hat ein Interview mit Fallout-Vater Tim Cain durchgezogen. Sehr nett zu lesen und auch empfohlen.

Zitat
DAC: A lot of us are already very familiar with you, but the release of Fallout 3 ushered in a new generation of Fallout fans who might be a bit too young to have been around during the "golden era" of the Fallout series. Can you give us a little information about your background and how you got started in the Fallout world?
Tim: I have been working in the computer game industry since I was sixteen years old, and I continued to work in it to pay for college and graduate school. I worked as a programmer, but I also did quite a bit of design work too, until finally in 1994 while at Interplay, I got the opportunity to be a project leader and pick my own project. I started by myself, but within a year I had a small team. We knew we wanted to make a cRPG, but fantasy seemed too common at the time, so we went with a post-nuclear setting. For a while it looked like we might be the sequel to Wasteland, but the license never became available and we ended up designing our own world, which became the world of Fallout.

DAC: What are your thoughts and opinions on Fallout 3 and its various DLCs from Bethesda? Did you play/finish the game?
Tim: I played and finished Fallout 3 as soon as it came out. I really enjoyed the game, and I think Bethesda’s designers had really done their homework. The game showed they had a deep understanding and knowledge of the key aspects of the original games. I even replayed it a few times to see how I could have different experiences, and I had fun with that.

Of course, I would have done things differently if I had made it.

DAC: What was your initial reaction when you learned that Bethesda bought the license from Interplay?